Do It for God–and Yourself

by Joyce Meyer

That you may walk (live and conduct yourselves) in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to Him and desiring to please Him in all things…. —Colossians 1:10

When you get dressed and prepared for each day, do you ever consider that you should dress to please the Lord?  I believe we should consider Him in all things and often when I am choosing my clothes for the day I say, “Lord, I want to look nice for you today.”  I firmly believe that we should dress appropriately and be neat and tidy.  We might have the kindest heart in the world, but if we look like a sloppy mess, people will usually form an opinion based on what they see first. 

business-women dressIf I dress sloppy and don’t comb my hair I feel sloppy and lazy, but doing my best to look nice makes me feel more professional and energetic.  I am not suggesting that we can’t be comfortable, but we should do it and still look nice.  I see people in clothes that have sat in the clothes dryer too long and are wrinkled all over, and it immediately says to me, “lazy and sloppy.”  I see women in clothing that is way too revealing and totally improper, and I don’t think God is pleased. 

You may have never considered that God cares about the way we dress, but I firmly believe that He cares about everything we do and that we should do our best in every area of life.

The next time you get dressed to go somewhere go look in the mirror and ask yourself, “Am I dressed in a way that will be pleasing to the Lord?”  Take good care of yourself in every area. Do it for God and for yourself. We don’t have to be wealthy to look nice; all we have to do is do the best we can with what we have. Be an excellent person in all areas of life and do it unto the Lord.

Love God and yourself today and every day:  What areas can you improve in to be more fully pleasing to the Lord?


From the book Love Out Loud by Joyce Meyer. Copyright © 2011

Read more from Joyce:      http://www.joycemeyer.org/Articles/Devotional.aspx

What are your thoughts?

