Life On Purpose ~ Part 3

By Andrew Wommack

Once you realize that you are the one responsible for discovering God’s will, the next step is to start seeking God for it. He’s not hiding His will from you. But you’re going to have to do some seeking to find it.

Jeremiah 29:12-13 tells us how we need to seek God:

“Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.”

Life-of-Purpose_man_crossNotice the emphasis on seeking with all your heart. As long as you can live without knowing God’s will for your life, you will. But when you seek with all your heart, you will find it (Matt. 7:7).

When I was a senior in high school, I was faced with having to know what God’s will for my life was. I hadn’t thought about it much before that, because for twelve years, I was just a student. But at that point, I needed to know if I was supposed to go to college or what path God wanted me to take.

I asked people in my church how to find God’s will. Nobody could tell me what to do. So I decided to start reading the Bible. I figured God’s Word could give me the knowledge I needed, so I stayed up until two and three every night, reading. Even though I ended up reading the Bible through two or three times during my senior year, I still didn’t have any specific direction from the Lord. But then, all of a sudden, one passage of Scripture, Romans 12:1-2, came alive to me:

“Present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

For the next four months, I meditated on those scriptures. It was shortly after that when I had my life-changing encounter with God. As a result of that encounter, I began to see that God had called me to be a full-time minister. I don’t think it was any accident that God showed up in such a miraculous way in my life at that time. It was because I had been diligently seeking Him, wanting to know the path He had for me.

One mistake people often make in seeking God’s purpose is that they assume whatever they’re good at in the natural must be what God wants them to do. So if they’re naturally good at public speaking, they figure God must have called them to a speaking ministry of some sort. I don’t believe this is always true. It certainly wasn’t true in my case. I was scared stiff of speaking in front of people.

God called me to do what is beyond my natural ability so that I would have to rely on Him to get it done.

To be continued…

For more from Andrew Wommack  click here  http://www.awmi.net

Also Click on the Watch Today’s Program tab above to view Andrew’s TV program.

You’ll be glad you did!

What are your thoughts?

